Online Articles, Newspapers & Info
Font Size:
General Resources


Foundation Center database link
    View thousands of grant resources, which offer:
  • Funding for Organizations
  • Funding for Individuals
  • Foundation databases are only accessible within the Main Library



library card imageChilton Library.com database link (will not work in IE on Macintosh OSX)


library card imageFacts on File: World News Digest database link
    Search more than 200,000 full-text articles, including:
  • News stories organized by timeline, topic, or country
  • Links to international newspapers
  • Photos, maps, charts, and graphs



library card imageFacts on File: Ferguson Career Guidance Center database link
    Interested in a new career? This database provides:
  • Job & industry information
  • Advice on applying for a job & acing an interview
  • Sample resumes and cover letters
  • Scholarships & internships


library card imageFacts on File: Issues & Controversies database link
    Find information on current issues, by seeing:
  • Pro and con essays
  • Editorials
  • Images
  • Statistics


available anywhere imageInspire database link
    Indiana's Virtual Library
  • Magazine and Journal articles
  • Websites
  • Images
  • Informe! (Spanish language magazines and pamphlets)
  • And more

library card imageLearningExpress Library database link

library card imageOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center database link
available anywhere imageSubject Guides database linkFind links and articles on topics such as:
  • Local government
  • Genealogy and other hobbies
  • Local community organizations
  • Homeschooling and homework


If you don't see a page that you'd like, tell us and we may add it! Use the menu to jump to the guide you need.



library card imageThe World Almanac database link


library card imageToday's Science database link
    Research issues in the scientific world:
  • Overview articles and links to detailed news coverage
  • Glossaries
  • Science-related biographies



library card imageThomson Gale Legal Forms database link (may not display properly in Safari)
Access standard forms:
  • Real estate contracts
  • Wills
  • Bankruptcy forms
  • Divorce forms
  • Landlord-tenant agreements

Thomson Gale Legal Forms database link
    Find legal information:
  • Indiana and Federal Cases and Statutes
  • Legal Subjects
  • Legal Forms




Biography Resources

library card imageBiography Resource Center Database LinkHow To Use (pdf)      Video Tour
    Search for influential people by:
  • Name
  • Birth or death year
  • Nationality or ethnicity
  • Occupation or gender



Business Resources


library card imageReference USAHow To Use (pdf)
    Search for U.S. organizations and households:
  • Company & parent company names
  • Annual earnings
  • Type of business & size
  • Conducts market research
  • Locates friends and relatives

library card imageTribune Business Weekly Database link
A searchable database of the weekly business publication of the South Bend Tribune back to 1992.

Click here to read the current edition.



Community Information

available anywhere imageCommunity Connection Database link
available anywhere imageSt. Joseph County Census Profiles Database link
Clickable tract maps of St. Joseph County allow you to get statistics from the 1980, 1990 and 2000 census.





Literature

library card imageNovelist Database link This database will no longer be available as of January 2010.
An electronic reader’s advisory resource. Search by an author, title or plot and find similar books. Author interviews and book discussion guides are also featured.




available anywhere imageTumble Book Library Database link An online database of animated, talking picture books which you can read, or have read to you.







Local & Family History

available anywhere image1875 St. Joseph County Atlas Database link A searchable, browsable digital version of the 1875 Illustrated Historical Atlas of St. Joseph County, Indiana, including plat maps, biographies, and engravings.




available anywhere image1910 South Bend and Mishawaka Elks Convention Book Database link A searchable, browsable digital version of the 1910 Official Souvenir, 9th Annual Convention, Indiana State Association, B.P.O.E., South Bend, Indiana, featuring text and illustrations of people, businesses, and the community.



available anywhere imageca. 1910 South Bend YMCA Book Database link A searchable, browsable digital version of the ca. 1910 A Manhood Factory in the Center of South Bend's Greatest Industries, featuring textand illustrations of people, the YMCA, and the community.




available anywhere image1936 St. Joseph County Platbook Database link A searchable, browsable digital version of the 1936 Index Map of St. Joseph County, Indiana, showing all landowners in the unincorporated areas of the county at that time.




in the library imageAncestry Library Edition Database link How To Use (pdf)
This site presents comprehensive genealogy resources including federal and state census images, military records, immigration and passenger list records, indexes of vital statistics, and more.




library card imageDigital Sanborn Maps 1867 - 1970 Database link How to use (pdf)
View, navigate, print, and download historic birds'-eye view maps of Indiana.





Subject Guides database link Genealogy resources selected by SJCPL librarians.






library card imageHeritage Quest Database link How to use (pdf)
This site features unique resources such as Revolutionary War pension files; Freedmen's Bank records; searchable genealogy and history books; and PERSI, The Periodical Source Index. It also includes many federal censuses.



in the library imageIndiana Genealogical Society database link More than 40 searchable databases related to Indiana history, including indexes to county, church, military, and school records.

Ask your SJCPL librarian to put in a user name and password to give you access to this site.


in the library imageNew England Ancestors database link How to use (pdf)
From the New England Historic Genealogical Society, more than 250 databases of town, church, family Bible, vital, land, tax, and other records pertaining to New England as well as New York, Ireland, England, and eastern Canada.



available anywhere imageObituary Index database link How to use (pdf)
An index to obituaries that appeared in the South Bend Tribune, from 1913 through the present, for people with ties to St. Joseph County.





available anywhere imageService Notes Index database link An index to Service Notes printed in the South Bend Tribune during the World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War eras.






Magazines

available anywhere imageMagazines through INSPIRE database link Indiana's INSPIRE provides full text for over 1,820 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. Full text back files go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract back files go as far back as January of 1984.



Newspapers

library card imageThe Chicago Tribune (current) database link A searchable database of articles and pages from the Chicago Tribune, going back to 1985.





library card imageThe Chicago Tribune (historical) database link A searchable database of articles and pages from the Chicago Tribune, going back as far as the 1850s and continuing through 1985.





library card imageThe Chicago Tribune (current) database link How to Use (pdf)
Includes the past decade of newspaper articles from the Evansville Courier & Press, Ft. Wayne Journal-Gazette, the Gary Post-Tribune, the South Bend Tribune, and the South Bend Tribune Business Weekly.



available anywhere imageThe New York Times (current) database link A searchable database of New York Times articles from 1981- present (1987 - present free to view).






available anywhere imageThe Chicago Tribune (historical) database link A searchable database of New York Times articles from 1851-1980 (1851-1922 free to view).






in the library imageNewspaper Archive database link A searchable database and actual images of millions of American newspaper pages from many areas and time periods.





in the library imageSouth Bend Tribune Online Archive database link A searchable database of full-text articles from the South Bend Tribune, going back to March 1998.
  • For better search results on the SBT archives, use 'and' between the search terms.



[ Back to the Top ]

available anywhere image
Available on any computer anywhere Available on any computer with a valid St. Joseph County Public Library card
Available at all branches of the St. Joseph County Public Library